Alice Pfeiffer

Judging by her CV, Alice is either hyperactive or an insomniac, but probably both. Although she worked for cutting-edge fashion publications, limiting her to her journalism profession would be incomplete at best, or even downright simplistic. The author of two books [Editor’s note: of which the latest is Le goût du moche (A Taste for the Ugly), published by Flammarion], she also has a master’s degree in gender studies. An insider in a world whose contradictions she willingly questions, she picks apart the close relationship between pop culture and society, feminism and fashion. Meet a socially-committed journalist.

COULD YOU INTRODUCE YOURSELF?

My name is Alice Pfeiffer. I’m a fashion journalist specialized in fashion’s intersection with gender issues. I’m also the author of two books: Je ne suis pas Parisienne [I’m not Parisian] (Stock) and Le Goût du Moche [A Taste for the Ugly](Flammarion), that deal with fashion and pop culture from a sociological perspective.

COULD YOU TELL US BRIEFLY ABOUT YOUR CAREER? 

I’m half English and I spent my high school and university years in London. Over there, I did a master’s degree in Gender Studies at the London School of Economics, before returning to Paris to work for the New York Times. I was a correspondent for the American and British press for a long time, and today I freelance for several French publications including Les Inrockuptibles. I’m also a professor and I recently dove head first into writing books.

WHAT DO YOU LIKE BEST ABOUT PARIS?

I love everything you don’t see in the guidebooks, anything that’s out of the box, that’s not photogenic in the Hausmannian sense of the word: the Malakoff market, communist red (and grey) suburbs, the flea markets at the Porte de Montreuil, on the eastern outskirts of Paris, skinny-dipping in the canal in Pantin. I try to get away from the picture-perfect postcard that continues to feed the world’s imagination, and build a life that’s more like me.

Instagram : @alicepfeiffer

Credits:
- Photographer: Alexander Guirkinger
- Artistic Direction: Cleo Charuet
-Styling: Claire Thomson-Jonville

Alice is wearing a Low Five in Smooth Black Calfskin from our permanent collection.

SEE ALL PORTRAITS

Alice Pfeiffer

 

A en juger par son CV, Alice est soit hyperactive, soit insomniaque, mais probablement les deux. Bien qu'elle ait travaillé pour toute les rédactions mode les plus pointues, la cantonner à son métier de journaliste de mode serait au mieux incomplet, voire carrément réducteur. Autrice de deux livres (dont le dernier en date "Le goût du moche, publié chez Flammarion, NDLR), elle est aussi titulaire d'un master en gender studies. Aux premières loges d'un milieu dont elle interroge volontiers les contradictions, elle décortique les relations étroites entre pop culture et société. Féminisme et mode à travers son travail. Rencontre avec une journaliste impliquée.

 

PEUX-TU TE PRÉSENTER ?

Je m'appelle Alice Pfeiffer, je suis journaliste de mode spécialisée dans ses intersections avec les questions de genre. Je suis également l'autrice de deux livres, Je ne suis pas Parisienne (Stock) et Le Goût du Moche (Flammarion), qui traitent de la mode et la culture pop avec une perspective sociologique

 

PEUX-TU NOUS RACONTER TON PARCOURS EN QUELQUES MOTS ?

Je suis moitié anglaise et ai passé mon lycée et mes études universitaires à Londres. Là, j'ai fait un master en Gender Studies à la London School of Economics, avant de revenir à Paris travailler pour le New York Times. J'ai longtemps correspondu pour la presse américaine et britannique, et suis aujourd'hui pigiste dans plusieurs titres français dont Les Inrockuptibles, ainsi que professeure et ai plongé dans l'écriture de livres récemment.

 

QU'EST-CE QUE TU AIMES LE PLUS À PARIS ?

J'aime tout ce qu'on ne voit pas dans les guides, tout ce qui sort du cadre, qui n'est pas photogénique dans le sens hausmannien de la chose: le marché de Malakoff, banlieue rouge (et grise), les bazaars de la Porte de Montreuil, les bains de minuit dans le Canal à Pantin. J'essaye de fuir la carte postale qui continue de nourrir un imaginaire mondial et de bâtir une vie qui me ressemble plus.

 

Instagram : @alicepfeiffer

 

Crédits:
- Photographe: Alexander Guirkinger
- Direction Artistique: Cleo Charuet
- Stylisme: Claire Thomson-Jonville

 

Alice porte ici un Low Five Veau Lisse Noir de notre collection permanente

 

VOIR TOUS LES PORTRAITS